prtothetrade

Crowdsourcing, LinkedIn & The Market for Antiques

In Uncategorized on February 20, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Tyler Goldman has nothing to do with the antiques and art world. He has everything to do with one of BuzzMedia, one of the most influential publishing sites on the Internet.  A guy like Goldman has more to do than than fool around with Linkedin, except that he is interested in crowdsourcing.

As members of the vintage and antiques world, crowdsourcing is an interesting concept that could create the social epidemic everyone is looking for.

Because I’m always touting the potential of social media, provided your objective is clear and you have the resources to meet it, here are some important excerpts. You can view the entire Bloomberg Businessweek article by clicking here.

According to Tyler Goldman…

  • Ninety-seven percent of people use LinkedIn purely as a static reference or recruiting tool, but there is so much more that it can enable users to explore. I became fascinated by the group functionality and crowdsourcing.
  • I started by becoming immensely active in an Eagle Scouts group, immersing myself in the discussion threads and adding news. I had never been an Eagle Scout myself, but I wanted to see how LinkedIn could leverage the potential and passion of their audiences, so I stimulated a conversation about the lack of transparency in the award of merit badges. The Scouts ignored all of my suggestions about improving their badge-nominating process, but their nuanced discussion made me realize what a platform the site could be for passion and interests, and I wanted to see how deep I could go.
  • I wanted to see how deep I could go on topics that never make the front page of the New York Times but that I believed a lot of people felt passionate about—air conditioning units or Econo Lodge Platinum Club membership. Where else can I learn about all of them and liquefied petroleum tankers? On LinkedIn there are a lot of people who take that very seriously.
  • Crowdsourcing and targeting. I spend a lot of time on the site asking questions because I believe crowdsourcing works when you start with a huge pool of candidates, which LinkedIn has. I witnessed that through my participation in a Meat Innovation group when I nominated a legendary Texan cattle rancher for the Meat [Industry] Hall of Fame. A wild, wide-ranging debate resulted, which made me realize that successful crowdsourcing occurs when you engage multiple layers of perspective and expertise in a single context. In a funny way, the techniques I honed on meat innovation informed my work with Kim Kardashian.

Editor’s Note: Given the animated exchange on such Groups as Antiques are Green, etc. these excerpts should be taken to heart. Actually, the entire article from Bloomberg Businessweek should become the Bible for ‘our crowd’.

Leave a Reply

